2014 St. Jude Memphis Half Marathon

Standard

Saturday was the St. Jude Memphis Marathon Weekend, and once again I ran in the half marathon. This is my fourth consecutive year registering for this event, and each time I have taken something new away from the experience. I love raising money for this cause, and the event is always top-notch. This race truly is a great celebration of St. Jude and the City of Memphis, and it is always an honor to participate in it.

The St. Jude logo painted onto Beale St.

The St. Jude logo painted onto Beale St.

There is not much I can about the race that I have not said before, I will give it my best shot.

The start line for the 2014 St. Jude Half Marathon

The start line for the 2014 St. Jude Half Marathon

The weather for the race was cool, cloudy, and windy, but there was no rain like the day before or ice like the previous year, so it was certainly bearable. If anything, the weather was slightly warmer than ideal for my personal preferences, but I did enjoy it.

One of several pics Susan got of me on the course.

One of several pics Susan got of me on the course.

There were a little over 18.000 of us out there running the streets of Memphis on Saturday morning in the various events. This is about the normal amount of runners for the events and the crowding along the course was also about the same. We were crowded at the start, then gained some separation for a few miles, then bottled up a bit going through Overton Park, and stayed in pockets of runners for the remainder of the half marathon.

The half marathon was my tenth of the year, fifteenth overall, and my time was solid. I finished in 2:18:03, which is my second fastest half of the year. I started off a little too fast, but overall, I felt good for the vast majority of the race. I did forget about the hills towards the end, and did not have the best plan of attack for them this year, but I survived. There is always next year to break my course, and even overall PR! This very well may become a 2015 goal. That or attempt the full marathon in 2015. We shall see.

2014 St. Jude HM Swag

Shirts and medal for the 2014 event. the back of the shirt had the Memphis skyline with St. Jude incorporated into it.

Swag: A+: I am always pleased with the expo for this event. There is always several vendors and tons of information available. This is the first year that I actually heeded my own advice and requested a shirt in  a size larger than I normally wear. And since I did that, I finally have a St. Jude Half Marathon race shirt that I can wear in different events! Also, this year’s medal is by far the best one that has been offered by the event, and I loved the incorporation of Memphis and St. Jude landmarks onto the medal, as well as the shirt. My Heroes singlet was still too snug for me to run in comfortably, but I did run in my Heroes training shirt, so I was still able to celebrate the kiddos at St. Jude. If it was much colder, then the compression like fit of the singlet would have been welcomed for the run.

Far and away the best medal that the event has ever offered.

Far and away the best medal that the event has ever offered.

Course: A: The start was slightly revised, following a more straightforward route which is similar to several of the other downtown races. It helped with congestion early in the race a little bit, but did not make or break the race. The highlight of the course, as always, was running through the St. Jude campus. And the marathon actually went through the campus twice! The hills towards the end are tough, but manageable if you have a plan.

Great post-race meal at an U of M institution (even if it is no longer by the U of M)! Also, rocking my Strikeout Cancer shirt.

Great post-race meal at an U of M institution (even if it is no longer by the U of M)! Also, rocking my Strikeout Cancer shirt.

Overall: A: As always, I love this event. The logistics for the runner is always top-notch. Even in the heavily congested food and beverage area, there are signs and directions. The only negative was that the beer garden was not clearly marked, and getting to it was not easy. I ended up skipping it altogether, despite wearing my 21 and up id bracelet for the two days prior.

Chewbacca runs Memphis! The best costume in the entire event, and this person ran the full marathon like this!

Chewbacca runs Memphis! The best costume in the entire event, and this person ran the full marathon like this!

Apology: Several months ago I posted about a special medal that was going to be given out to Heroes raising at least $100 at each of the Country Music Marathon/Half Marathon in Nashville, and the St. Jude Memphis Marathon Weekend. I even put this in  a post last week. Well, this did not happen. So, if anyone got their hopes up about this medal, I am sorry for sharing incorrect information. I do not know why the medal  was not given out, but the Rock ‘N Roll Marathon site still has the page for the medal up. I received two emails about the medal, one of which said medals will be shipped in a couple of weeks, and one that said that medals were not offered. It sounds like to me that there will be no medals. Update: So I got another email saying that medals will be mailed out in a few weeks. Regardless, take pride in knowing that you efforts helped the children of St. Jude, which are the real reason for these events anyway.

Obviously, I plan on running in this event in the future. The only real question is whether or not I run in the half or full marathon next year. The only reason that I am considering the full is because next year’s event falls on my birthday, and that would be a cool way to celebrate!

3 thoughts on “2014 St. Jude Memphis Half Marathon

  1. renee

    I found your recaps while looking up info on the Memphis St. Jude Half Marathon. I am doing the St. Jude half marathon in Memphis for the first time this December. I have done the Nashville Country Music Half Marathon twice (mainly walked, with a little jogging mixed in). Can you give me a comparison of the hills in Nashville versus the course in Memphis? I want to try and get a good game plan!

    Thank you!
    Renee

    • Thanks for reading! The course in Memphis is much less hilly than the course in Nashville. The worst part is around mile 10. There are a couple more hills, but nothing like in Nashville. The weather is also much cooler, which is certainly a plus as well! Good luck in your training and with the race!

Leave a Reply

