Heroes in Recovery 6K 2014 Recap

Standard

Back on November 8th, I participated in the Heroes in Recovery 6K held at the Court Square here in Memphis. It is a smaller event, but is for a great cause, alcohol and drug recovery services. Their website shares stories of people in recovery talking about how they overcame addiction and mental health limitations to break the stigma. And since I work in the field of alcohol and drug recovery, I felt that I had to run in the race, if for no other reason than showing my face at event as a representative of my courtroom. Also, it was my first ever 6K, which meant that it was an automatic PR!

And we are off!

And we are off!

It was a cold morning, but nothing like this past week has been across the country. But it was not raining and the sun came out, so it was really ideal running conditions for myself. I was coming off my 5K PR at the True Blue 5K the previous night, so I was confident that I would run hard again. And I did!

The majority of the course is one that I have run multiple times over the past few years, and yet the scenery is not getting old. I started a little faster than I should have, partially because I was at the front with the real speedsters and partially because I was feeling really good. This caught up with my on the home stretch, especially the climb up the bluff, but I was still very happy with results.

Race medal and my age group award

Race medal and my age group award

The combination of the small race field and my strong running led to an age group second place finish for myself, which was my second age group award this year! It feels good to see some positive results on my running ability while also knowing that I can always improve.

Swag from the race, including my age group award.

Swag from the race, including my age group award.

Swag: A: Good looking tech shirt, race medal that was better than a few of the half marathons that I have run in this year, and a race decal. Post race refreshments were adequate, and plentiful. Also, the poster designs for each event is great, and reflects each city for the event.

Front of the medal

Front of the medal

Course: A: Downtown course that is incorporated in most downtown races in Memphis in some capacity. The uphill climb towards the end was a killer, but it always is. We still got to run along the river before making the climb, so at least we had a great view before the steep, but short climb.

Back of the medal

Back of the medal

Overall: A: This was a fun race for a great cause with some good swag for participants, especially the runners that registered early enough to get the $25 registration fee. This is a national race, with events in Memphis, TN, Leiper’s Fork, TN, Palm Springs, CA, New York, NY, Roswell, GA, Charlotte, NC, and Coconut Creek, FL.

As long as my schedule allows, I will return to this race in the future, even if it is just to try to break my 6K PR and this is the only event that will give me this opportunity in the Memphis area.

Leave a Reply

