MRTC Road Race Series Half Marathon #1 Recap

Standard

Last Sunday was the first half marathon in the MRTC Road Race Series. I would have posted about this race sooner, but it has been a long and terrible week. I will post about that later when I am mentally ready. For now, a quick race review.

This was race number 9 of 10 in the Road Race Series and I am 9 for 9 thus far. Just another 13.1 miles until Road Warrior status!

The 2014 MRTC RRS race shirt

The 2014 MRTC RRS race shirt

This race also was my eighth half marathon of the year, and thirteenth overall. This race certainly had the least amount of amenities of any half marathon that I have participated in thus far, but that was known coming into the event. No electrolyte replacement drinks, no medals, and no extra race swag. It was just a boring out and back course along Singleton Parkway from Memphis to the Millington Naval Base and back.

This is the timing chip for this year's event.

This is the timing chip for this year’s event.

It was a very cool morning, which helped with my run. I love to run when the temperature is in the forties, and my results typically reflect this. This was my fastest half marathon of the year (and third fastest ever) with a time of 2:16:04, and it felt great! And this even included my fall around the halfway point of the course! This was my first fall while running in a long time, which is a surprise.

Running along the cold course.

Running along the cold course.

I have decided to include swag from a couple of virtual races into my two half marathons in the MRTC Road Race Series. Basically, I found two physical races that offered virtual options, and did what I needed to do to qualify for the events. Then I just but the medals away until each half in the Road Race Series, then I awarded them to myself as if the race awarded the medal. I still ran the miles for both events, but now my medal rack accurately reflects the number of completed events by me.

ODDyssey Half Medal

2014 ODDyssey Half Marathon Medal

For the first half, I used the medal and shirt from the ODDyssey Half Marathon. You probably have seen the medal from this event since it is already popping up on the best medals of the year lists all over the place. It is a mountable bottle opener, which is awesome ans quite unique. I ran the 13.1 miles for this medal back in July, but waited until last Sunday to “award” it to myself.

2014 ODDyssey Half Marathon Swag

2014 ODDyssey Half Marathon Swag

All and all, it was a good day of running, but I am very happy that there is only one more race in the Road Race Series.

3 thoughts on “MRTC Road Race Series Half Marathon #1 Recap

Leave a Reply

