Mizuno Wave Rider 18 Shoe Review

Standard

Full disclosure, I was provided the opportunity to review the Mizuno Wave Rider 18 through FitFluential. This is a sponsored post with FitFluential for Mizuno, but all opinions are 100% my own.

Wave Rider 18

In early October, Mizuno sent me the newest version of their Wave Rider neutral running shoe, the Wave Rider 18. My first thought was that this was a very sharp-looking shoe. My wife agreed, and actually wanted me to use these shoes for my everyday sneaker rather than running. And since the look of a running shoe is not as important as the function of a running shoe, I opted to use these shoes for running to gauge their quality.

Wave Rider 18 in Box

Shoe Specifics

Color: White/Dress Blue/Vibrant Orange (Shown), also available in Black/Silver/Classic Green and Chinese Red/Silver/Black in the men’s category.

Weight: 9.2 oz.

Drop: 12 mm

Suggested MSRP: $119.99

Wave Rider 18 Laces

Mizuno advertises a balance between fit and performance with the Wave Rider 18, and I would agree with this notion. The shoe fits true to size, and feels very light on my feet. Even on my first run, the shoe felt good on my feet. I have not gone on a run longer than six miles in the shoe yet, but I anticipate this shoe being my choice for the St. Jude Half Marathon in December.

 Wave Rider 18 Back

The Wave Rider 18 has a high level of responsiveness, shock absorption, and provides a smooth ride. It is a light feeling shoe while still providing the needed support to log my miles. Mizuno is able to keep the lightweight feel while also providing a shoe that feels supportive and able to sustain the rigors of a runner’s weekly mileage. The shoe feels very durable on your foot, and seems to be constructed well. I cannot wait until I take these shoes out for a half marathon because I feel that I will be able to see some benefits on those last couple of grueling miles.

Wave Rider 18 Top

Verdict: I would buy these shoes for my running needs in the future. Honestly, I am purchasing a second pair of these shoes, in this exact color, to wear on a normal basis. The comfort is outstanding, and I find the design to be very sharp. Having a quality pair of shoes is always a good thing, and I feel that these shoes fit that description. This is a great shoe for those neutral runners like myself out there that get frustrated with the limited options that we have when it comes to quality running shoes.

Wave Rider 18 Box 2

4 thoughts on “Mizuno Wave Rider 18 Shoe Review

  1. Hey 🙂 Love reading your blog 🙂 By the way,is this shoe a little too narrow? I read on an online running forum that it gave a few people numbness in the front of the foot (toes ahha) so I was wondering if I should consider this or not 🙂 Thanks!

    • I have not had any numbness in my toes, but I do always go up a size in my running shoes to account for my feet swelling while on long runs. I could see where people feel that the shoe is a little narrow, but it is honestly on par with my Brooks Glycerin 12’s, if not slightly wider. I will know even more next weekend because I am using these shoes for a double digit mileage run. I will update the review accordingly. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

