Closing in on 1,000 Miles

Standard

One of my goals for 2014 was to reach 1,000 miles running for the year. That would equate to 83.33 miles per month. Through the first nine months of 2014, I only eclipsed that mark four times. Not exactly a strong attempt to making my goal. I have had some issues with the heat, sinus infections, apathy, and foot pain.  But these are just excuses, but it has left me where I am today.

Log 1,000 miles in 2014

Log 1,000 miles in 2014

Through the end of September, I had logged 698.11 miles, which left me 301.89 miles short of my goal.  The remaining miles means that I need to run 100.63 miles per month through the rest of the year to hit 1,000. This is a daunting task, for sure, especially without a full marathon training regiment.  It is, however, not even close to an impossible task.

How-I-Met-Your-Mother-Challenge-Accepted

I feel like I am up for the challenge.  I have four half marathons, two ten-mile races, and two 5K’s to finish the year.  My race schedule for the final three months has a total of 78.6 miles, so deducting this distance from my total needed, and I am looking at a shortage of 223.29 miles.  Spread that throughout the rest of the year, and it seems much more manageable.  Already for October, I am at 49.93 miles with a run pending for this evening. If the weather, and my body cooperate, I have a real shot at meeting and even surpassing this goal.

6 thoughts on “Closing in on 1,000 Miles

  1. This is so totally Cool! Way to go! I’m still trying to emulate many things you do and have done especially pertaining to your running and blog. I’ve only hit 100 miles in a month once this year (August) and for me the pride in that ranks somewhere between completing a half and a full marathon so…. to knock out a little over 300 miles in the next three months is just freakin’ AWESOME! I’m not sure if I’ll be performing at that level so I will be living vicariously through you. Take a Step for Me! Sending you the best wishes possible! 🙂
    Can’t wait to see a blog stating that this goal was achieved! 🙂

Leave a Reply

