Avengers Half Weekend Medals Revealed

Standard

Several months ago when the Avengers Super Heroes Half Weekend was announced, I was excited and sad at the same time.  I was excited because, as a nerd, this is a great theme.  I was sad because I had already registered for the Disneyland Half Weekend races, and there was absolutely no way that I could afford two trips out west for the races.  There were rumors of an Avengers themed race at Disneyland, but most thought that it would be in January (the spot has since been filled by a Star Wars themed race weekend), and I decided to get my Coast to Coast medal this year, and signed up for the Dumbo Double Dare.  If I would have know that the Avengers were coming in November, that is the race I would have targeted.  Oh well.

And ever since the announcement, I have wondered what the medal would look like.  As of this morning, the wait is over since the medals have been revealed!

Medals for the Avengers Super Heroes Half Marathon Weekend

Medals for the Avengers Super Heroes Half Marathon Weekend

Disney is known for their medals, and it seems that each year they seem to top themselves.  Prior to the announcement, the event was teased with #SmashTheHalf, which led me (and others) to believe that the medal would be based on the Hulk this year, with possibly each Avenger getting a medal in subsequent years. Wrong.  Honestly, I am a little underwhelmed by the medals.  My biggest fear was that the medals would be so awesome that I would take a scorch the earth approach to my finances to find a way there in November.  Now, that fear is unfounded. I can simply regret the race announcement not coming sooner, and focus on more important things.

Update: As soon as I posted this, I saw a closer look at the front and the back of the half medal.  So, here you go.

Front of Avengers Half Medal

Front of Avengers Half Medal

Back of Avengers Half Medal

Back of Avengers Half Medal

4 thoughts on “Avengers Half Weekend Medals Revealed

  1. Wow – those are really cool! 🙂 I noticed that half is the Inaugural medal and the 5K and half are on subsequent days so both could be earned …heck, i just checked the website and all the races are sold out. no biggie, my best plan for getting there was to increase my lottery play 😉

  2. I’m running the Disneyland Half too, so when they announced both the Avengers and Star Wars Half (signed up for both) I ended up spending way way way too much money (my only saving grace is I live in LA). I’m pretty pleased with the medal (I think the ribbon makes it work). I thought too that they’d go character based (Hulk, Cap’s shield or Iron Man’s helmet). I think it might have popped a little more with the “A” being red or another color other than black. Should still be a fun time. Have a great run(s) at the Dumbo Double Dare.

    • Thanks! Enjoy your runs as well! Being located in LA definitely helps with the costs associated with these races. My $500+ airfare and the hotel bills add up. I’m looking forward to seeing the Star Wars medals as well.

Leave a Reply

