USMC Fitness Boot Camp Enlistment

Standard

I have been talking about my need to do more cross-training and focus on my total fitness for a while now.  And today I finally did something about it.  I have enlisted in the USMC Fitness Boot Camp here in Memphis.  The schedule does not conflict with work or school, it is near my house, and the cost is great enough that my cheap ass will go just so I did not waste the money!  This last reason honestly worked for me when I first started to lose weight and when I started training for my first half marathon.  By paying for a training group, mentally I could force myself to go on the training runs even when I did not want to (which was often).

USMC Fitness Boot CampMy first class will be at 5:30 am tomorrow morning.  There is a class tonight, but I do not think that I will be able to make it there in time.  But maybe.  I really do not want to start making excuses this early into the process! The website said that I need to bring the following items:

  • Exercise mat
  • Water bottle
  • Dumbbells (at least 10 lbs for men)
  • Running shoes
  • “Can do” attitude

I have three of the five items already covered, so that is a start, right?  I probably should have started this during a cooler month, but oh well.  It is too late now! Bring on the sweat and pain!

2 thoughts on “USMC Fitness Boot Camp Enlistment

Leave a Reply

