Aiming For Road Warrior

Standard

Every year here in Memphis the Memphis Runners Track Club (our local running club that I recently joined) hosts a Road Race Series.  The series starts in July and ends in November.  The event consists of two each of the 5K, 5 Miler, 10K, 10 Miler, and Half Marathon race distances.  It is a good way to fill up the calendar with races, run in some areas of town I normally do not, and will save me some green since I am getting ten races for $65 with my MRTC discount.

I immediately think of this anytime I hear Road Warrior! The Road Warriors from the WWF (now WWE)

I immediately think of this anytime I hear Road Warrior! The Road Warriors from the WWF (now WWE)

To complete the series you have to complete at least one of each of the race distances.  Anyone that completes all ten races will achieve Road Warrior status.  I am aiming for Road Warrior status.  Last year I had conflicts on a couple of the race dates, and therefore did not register for the series because Road Warrior was not attainable.  Why attempt it if I cannot go 100%?  According to the MRTC Facebook page, only about 13-14% of the registered runners achieve Road Warrior status.  This was a little surprising at first glance, but then when you think about what can happen between July 13 and November 16.  Injuries, sickness, vacation, poor weather, apathy, hangovers, and a whole host of other reasons may come up over the five month span of the series.

MRTC

There is not a ton of swag with the event.  There will be no medal for any of the races, or even the series as a whole.  This is more about running locally with other hardcore and/or dedicated Memphis runners.  It should be fun!

Leave a Reply

