Big runDisney News! The Avengers Race Weekend Coming to Disneyland!

Standard

This morning runDisney made a huge announcement of a new race at Disneyland.  Speculation had been rampant for months that Disney would be adding an Avengers or Star Wars themed race to the rapidly growing schedule of runDisney events.  The Avengers rumor had always been attached to Disneyland since there is a character agreement issue with Disney World and another theme park that has the contractual rights to using Marvel characters.

Big runDisney news. Smash the Half

Big runDisney news. Smash the Half

At 10:35 AM CST, runDisney announced that the rumors about an Avengers race were true, but the rumored date was incorrect.  Most people speculated that the new race would be during the old Tinker Bell Race Weekend slot in January, starting in 2015.  This morning, however, Disney announced that The Avengers Half Marathon and Super Heroes 5K will be held November 15 and 16, 2014!  This is huge news, that I want to be more excited about.  The idea of the race itself is amazing, and I really want to do it, but there is no way possible that I can participate in the race this year.  If I could transfer my Dumbo Double Dare registration to this event and pocket the difference I certainly would!  Susan even told me to wait on the Disneyland Half, but due to the quickness that the event sells out and that I assumed that the event would be in 2015, I registered for Dumbo.  Whoops!  You know what happens when you assume, I suppose!  I will still enjoy myself at the Disneyland Half and live vicariously through other runners during the November weekend.

Anyway, you can get more info here.  Registration opens on March 25, and it will probably sell out quickly.

Leave a Reply

