Rookie Running Mistake

Standard

Today I made a rookie mistake on my run.  I went for my long run for the week this afternoon, and decided to try it without properly fueling.  I had a big breakfast and was not very hungry, so I did not eat lunch.  I washed both our cars, bought some groceries, and decided to run my eleven miles while it was still daylight.  I honestly did not think anything about fueling and just headed out.  I was a little sore from raking leaves yesterday, so I thought that I was not going to have my best runner ever.  Also, I drank a little bit last night, so I was not optimally hydrated.  Early in my run, I felt good, even if I was slow.  I had some Sports Beans around mile five, and drank water as I felt I needed some.  Around mile nine and a half, I all of my extremities started tingling and I did not feel right.  I decided not to push it so I started to walk.  I had nothing left in the tank and I had no clue what was happening.  Once I made it back to the house, I grabbed a quick bite, and started to feel better immediately.  Let’s just say Susan was not happy that I ran eleven miles without eating anything for roughly six hours.  This was a rookie mistake, and just a reminder to pay a little closer attention to what I am doing out there.

Says it all, really

Homer says it all, really

On a brighter note, this was an amazing weekend and I was able to get quite a bit accomplished around the house.  We have pine trees around our house, and this is such a pain to deal with.  They drop pine needles and branches all year-long and they constantly need to be raked up.  I had not raked any of these needles in a couple of months, so I had a rather large task on my hands.  I ended up having twenty-three thirty-nine gallon bags of pine needles when I finished raking on Saturday.  I was shocked to see grass in my backyard!

Reminds me of Snuffleupagus

Reminds me of Snuffleupagus

This looks much better

This looks much better

After my yard work, I decided to relax, so I sat outside in the sunny, sixty-five degree weather and read a book for a little bit.  It has been so cold and dreary here this winter, so it was great to be able to relax outside. And of course getting to grill a steak on the grill without freezing to death was an added bonus as well.

Now, it is time to watch The Walking Dead and True Detective.

2 thoughts on “Rookie Running Mistake

Leave a Reply

