Odds And Ends

Standard

This is going to be a catchall post for some random events and happenings over the last week or so.

Susan created a photo book on Shutterfly of the WDW Marathon to help commemorate my experience there.  She used a variety of pictures from the event, the celebration after, and some of the events that preceded the event. I have added a few pictures so y’all get an idea of what she did.

Cover Art

Cover Art

I have written on here before about my transformation over the years, but I really have not posted many pictures of it.  Susan included this in the book.

My transformation

My transformation

Right now over at FitFluential, there is a challenge going on to do 1,000 burpees before February 28.  Participants are encouraged to use the hashtag #FFBURPEE and at the end of the challenge, one lucky male and female participant will win head to toe outfits from Under Armour.  This will be an excellent motivation for my upcoming Spartan Race.

Enlisted

Speaking of the upcoming Spartan Race, traveling to Tampa has proven to be harder than expected.  I was excited that Southwest was moving to Memphis, but after my first experience with them, I am not so sure.  Over a seven-day period, flights from Memphis rose nearly $200 per person!  And in fact, the rates seem to change hourly.  Last night, I was able to find a rice that was suitable to me, but once I tried to order our tickets, and was declined because the price of the tickets actually changed while I was checking out! I called customer service and was informed that I could buy one ticket at the advertised price and one at a higher rate.  I declined that option.  I ended up booking seats with one airline to Tampa and a different one on the way back to Memphis.

Atlanta today vs The Walking Dead

Atlanta today vs The Walking Dead

What is happening in Atlanta and Birmingham is insane.  It is concrete proof of how ill-equipped southern cities can be for winter weather.  And then there was an amazing photo today of the deserted streets of Atlanta that is quite similar to the famous shot of Atlanta in The Walking Dead.  It is eery how similar the two photos actually are.

2 thoughts on “Odds And Ends

  1. I like the idea of a book for your transformation. Its good to look back and see how far you have come along. My daughter is training for a 1/2 with her goal to lose weight. I’ll have to let her read your blog so she can get some encouragement.

Leave a Reply

