One Year of Blogging

Standard

Today marks the one year anniversary of me starting this blog.  Over the year, this blog has taken shape and I have learned quite a bit about running, gear, and gained valuable insight into my running ability.  This blog originally was started to hold me accountable for my 2013 goal of running at least one race in each month of the year, and continued to evolve from there.  I had some posts that I thought were great, some that were not that great, and a reference to help improving my running.  I would like to sincerely thank each and every one of my subscribers because without you, this would just be a personal journal and an odd one at that.  And since today is the one year mark since I launched this blog, I thought that I would look at some of the posts and stats from this first year.

tumblr_m61uyec7p31rqfhi2o1_500Most Popular Posts: My most visited page was obviously my home page, but besides that, my three most popular posts were as follows:

  1. Platinum Sombrero Virtual 5K – this is the page for my virtual 5K that I used as a fundraiser for St. Jude.
  2. Warrior Dash Mississippi 2013 – this is my wrap-up post from my first Warrior Dash event back in April.
  3. The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly: Cancun, Mexico 2013 – recap of Susan and I’s Mexican vacation from the summer which focuses on what we did and how I kept my running streak in tact while on vacation.
This is the first race photo that I have actually purchased.

This is the first race photo that I have actually purchased.

How People Find My Posts: WordPress provides stats about how people stumble across posts on your site, whether it be from Facebook, Twitter, emails, or search engines.  And if someone comes to your page via a search engine, they provide the search term used to find your post.  Often, these search terms are quite random and even absurd.  The following are some of the most random:

  1. Adult Race Car Bed – I have no clue
  2. Susan Guess Inside Out & Me Too Shoes Susan – random juxtaposition of words in various posts on this site
  3. Got My Period on Warrior Dash Day – ummmm
  4. Nutrition Month Sumbrero Design – no clue what this person was actually looking for
  5. Warrior Dash Chair Run – I am unaware of this obstacle, but I have generated several search results via people looking for Warrior Dash information, so that is a positive.
This is my medal rack thus far - it was a busy year

This is my medal rack thus far – it was a busy year

Country Breakdown: WordPress also provides breakdowns of where site visitors are from.  This is a very neat site feature and some of the countries seem made up to me.  For example, Brunei Darussalam cannot be a real place (it is on the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia).  The rest of the country stats are kind of boring with the United States being first, Canada second, United Kingdom third, and Mexico fourth.

10 thoughts on “One Year of Blogging

  1. Happy Blogiversary! Mine is coming up at the end of the month.

    LMAO, I love reading about what people searched to find people’s blog. I think every blogger should write a post once a year, about the funniest things searched!

Leave a Reply

