Race For Education Recap

Standard

My third race of the weekend was the Race For Education held in East Memphis.  Proceeds for the event were donated to Shelby County Schools and since Susan is a school teacher, running this event seemed appropriate.  Supposedly if you registered as a runner for a specific school, that school received a direct contribution from the race.  I hope that is the case.

Shelby County Schools need your help!

Shelby County Schools need your help!

The race was a three miler and after a 5K and half marathon, I was just planning on completing the race vertically.  I know others have run in events like the Goofy Challenge, but this was my first experience with events on three consecutive days.  My legs were sore, but I was able to run a very strong race.  In fact, if this race would have been a certified 5K, it would have been very close to a PR!  My official time was 26:57, which I thought was great for running on stiff and sore legs.  After the event, I told Susan that I wanted to find another 5K soon so I could go out it 100% to see if I could eclipse my PR.  We shall see.

Race for Education Swag

Race for Education Swag

Swag: C-: I will bump this some once there is some proof of donation to Susan’s school, but for now, it is a D since all we got was a t-shirt that was nowhere near the best race shirt that I have gotten.  There was plenty of bananas, oranges, and bottles of water post race for many more runners than were registered.  Also, I had my lowest bib number ever with a 3, which was the product of being the third registrant for the event.

Course: B: Solid, but hilly course that went through some commercial and residential areas.  It was a three mile course with chip timing and plenty of shade for a mid-afternoon race.  The biggest issue was that participants in the fun run that followed the actual race blended in with the racers which led to a little bit of chaos from the start.

Overall: B: I’m all for helping the school system and doing it with a run is a bonus.  I will be very interested to see what happens with this event next year after the school system splits once again.

 

3 thoughts on “Race For Education Recap

Leave a Reply

