Runner’s Christmas List

Standard

It is that time of year again when my family and friends inquire about what I might possibly want for Christmas.  I usually shrug and say “I don’t know.”  But, this year, I have decided to actually reflect on some items that I use almost daily and some items that would be more of a luxury.  I then decided to throw this into a blog post so there would be a place to refer my loved ones and I thought that it might be a helpful post for other runners out there as well.  So, here it goes!

7″ Running Shorts

Runners can never have enough pairs of shorts.  I currently own pairs by Under Armour, Nike, and The North Face.  All three companies fit virtually the same and perform fairly equally.  I prefer the 7″ length because being a bigger guy, the 5″ or shorter length exposes a little bit more skin than I like.  The 7″ length gives a nice range of motion for my runs.

XL Tech Shirt

Jut like with the shorts, runners can never have enough running shirts.  Nike and Under Armour are my preferred brands simply because they seem to be generously cut.

Under Armour Alter Ego Shirt

Superman Alter Ego Shirt

Superman Alter Ego Shirt

Not the compression variety, but rather the loose, graphic tee variety that is for sale.  I currently own the Batman version, but there now is a Superman and Captain America variety, and both are on my wishlist.

Brooks Glycerin 11, Size 11.5

Side view Brooks Glycerin 11

Side view Brooks Glycerin 11

I currently own a pair of these shoes and they have been treating me well, so I am going to need a replacement pair eventually.  Why not ask for another pair for Christmas?  I have the orange pair now, which would be great again, but the blue pair are great as well.

New Balance 1080 V3 ans/or Asics Gel Nimbus 15, Both Size 11.5

New Balance 1080 V3

New Balance 1080 V3

I have never worn either pair of these shoes, but both are recommended for supinators, which I am.  The color options are not overwhelming, but as any shoe store will tell you, buy your shoes by function, not color.

Asics Gel Nimbus 15

Asics Gel Nimbus 15

Pro Compression Marathon Socks and Sleeves, Size L/XL

My 1st attempt at using Pro Compression socks

My 1st attempt at using Pro Compression socks

I own a pair of each, and I love them, so obviously, I need more.  Red and blue are the two Pro Compression colors that I currently own.  I have a pair of black compression socks from a different company and a pair of neon green sleeves from another company as well.

Brooks L.S.D. Lite Jacket II, Size XL

Why this jacket?  Well, it is the highest rated by Runner’s World and that is about all of the knowledge that I have about a running rain jacket.  Honestly, I need a light and breathable jacket that does a good job of keeping me dry.

Warm Headgear, Size As Big As It Comes

For my winter runs, I need headgear to wear that keeps my head warm and repels sweat.  I currently run in typical beanies and they become consumed with sweat very quickly.  The biggest issue is that my head is rather large, 24+ centimeters, so finding a via option is tricky.

Socks, TBD

As I previously mentioned, I need so new socks to help battle my blister issues.  Once I discover that sock, they will be in this slot.

GoPro Hero3+, Black Edition

Hero 3+ Black

Hero 3+ Black

Do I need this? No.  Would the Silver or even the White edition work? Probably.  But if I am asking for one, I might as well as for the top in one.  I go back and forth on wanting one of these because I do not know how it would work for me during an event, but the idea of wearing this for the WDW Marathon, Spartan Sprint in Tampa, Warrior Dash, Tough Mudder, and several of my local races is quite enticing.  This is definitely in the why not ask for it category.

The Flipbelt, Black or Blue, XL

My Armpocket is great, and it has served me well, but I have been having some arm pain after my long runs, so I need to try some new options on these runs.  After some research, I think that the Flipbelt will be my first trial.

Reflective Gear

I need any variety of gear for safe running early in the morning or late at night.  Knuckle Lights or a non-chafing vest are what I am thinking here.  On colder runs, maybe some reflective sleeves.  I will give almost anything a try here.

RoadID Elite Band

I currently refuse to run without my RoadID Elite, but my band is taking a beating, so a couple of new bands would be great.  I actually have two name plates, so I could rotate bands very easily.  My current band is black, but a red, blue, or orange would be great as well.

Race Registrations

If it is a race that you think that I would like, it does not conflict with my schedule, and does not create too much of a traveling conflict, it  would probably be welcomed.

Running Gear Repping My Favorite Sports Teams

Can be found on the Grizz team site

Can be found on the Grizz team site

I have a Braves running shirt, Red Wings shirt, and Braves workout shorts, but I would welcome gear from any of my teams to utilize in races as well as training.  Dallas Cowboys, Memphis Grizzlies, Memphis Tigers are a few of the teams that I still need to represent. 

Yurbuds Inspire Duro, Ear Size 4

Cobalt/Black Yurbuds Inspire Duro

Cobalt/Black Yurbuds Inspire Duro

I really need a new pair of headphones for my runs.  I love the fit of Yurbuds, even if they do not stay in as well as advertised (they start to have issues after a couple of months of use).  I have a random ear hole size of 4, so it is not easy to find these ear buds.  The red, black, or cobalt ones all would be welcomed.

Stocking Stuffers

All runners need small items like Run Guard/Run Glide, fuels (GU, Chomps, Energybits, ect), Nip Guards, KT Tape, Lock Laces, and similar items.  They are little things that runners use, but do not get much attention when compared to the bigger ticket items.

5 thoughts on “Runner’s Christmas List

Leave a Reply

