Weekly Recap

Standard

Another week of running is in the books and I am rapidly approaching my next half marathon!

Monday: I did some light core work after class, but not enough to be considered a full-blown workout.  I also had quite a bit of reading for class, so I focused more on that.

Tuesday: Early morning four miler.  It was a little warm, but not too bad.  The rest of the day was my typical work then school format.

Wednesday: I did not workout because I was finishing up my third paper due for my Wednesday night class.  The professor gave us the night off of class to work on the paper and I wanted to make sure that the paper was written at a substantial level.

Thursday: I opted for extra sleep and one last tweak of my paper, so I ran after work.  It was rather hot, but the run felt good.  Afterwards, we tried the new Mellow Mushroom by our house.  It just opened, but the service was TERRIBLE and waiting 50 minutes for a small pizza is really unacceptable.  Especially when you order three small pizzas and get three pizzas in three different sizes.

Boo, the Dodgers won.  Kris Medlen had another rough postseason start.

Friday: I did the Spartan Ab 100 again, and I might finally be remembering the entire routine without constantly checking my iPhone.

Yay, the Braves won!  Mike Minor might be the ace of the staff again!

Saturday: I ran two races, the Tap ‘N Run Memphis and the Memphis Zombie Hunt 5K.  It might have been three, but Susan was leaving for the beach, so I opted to see her off.  I will do individual race recaps sometime this week.  I will say, however, that the weather was drastically different for the two races, and I actually finished seventh in my age group for the Zombie Hunt 5K!

Memphis Zombie Hunt 5K

Memphis Zombie Hunt 5K

Tap 'N Run Medal

Tap ‘N Run Medal

Also, were there any two teams in the country that lost in a more heart breaking way than the Memphis Tigers and Tennessee Volunteers did?  Memphis lost two fumbles for TD’s in the last two minutes of the game, one at least should have been overturned by replay, and then the would be tying kickoff return TD was negated by a rather weak holding call.  Tennessee, huge underdogs, had a late lead in the fourth quarter, but allowed Georgia to tie it to force OT.  Then they fumbled the ball out of the end zone while trying to score the go ahead TD.  The Vols might be cursed.  The Smokey Grey uniforms looked good, but they should probably match the helmets to them in the future.

Sunday: I ran the longest distance of my life by completing fifteen miles!  It was not as great of a long run as my last one, but I completed it and that is all that matters.  I am building towards the WDW Marathon and the mileage will certainly help me for the Four Bridges Half Marathon in two weeks.  The weather was chilly and overcast at the beginning of my run, and by the end three hours later, it was hot and sunny.  I got a little bit of a sunburn, but I maintained hydration throughout.

Damn, the Dodgers beat the hell out of the Braves.  This was quite a depressing game.  There is still hope though!  Just win the next two!

The Broncos and Cowboys game was the game of the year in the NFL, and of course the Cowboys came up short due to a Tony Romo interception.  He played amazingly until the last drive and was on his way to the NFL single game passing record.  Then he Romo’d and the Broncos won 51-48.  Watching the Cowboys builds character, I suppose.

The Titans really need Jake Locker to return from his hip injury.  They looked terrible on offense without him.

This was the first week since the end of Breaking Bad, so there was a void in TV, but at least The Walking Dead returns next Sunday night.

Boo

4 thoughts on “Weekly Recap

  1. If watching the Cowboys builds character, then I suppose watching the Texans is doing penance 😦 Ol’ Pick-Six Schaub was doing his best to maintain his career .500 average, and from what I hear, he’ll get another chance next week…oh well, I love my team, I sigh over the coach and QB.

    Nice work on the 15 miler! I do that run in two weeks, because this weekend I have back-to-back races (but good heavens, not i the same day, you crazy man, you!) I’m doing 5K on Sat, then 10 miles on Sunday, so maybe in a week I will have some double bling to show off!

    • Yeah, I imagine watching all of those pick sixes from Schaub is difficult. I can’t even imagine how a QB throws one as often as he does.

      Good luck on your upcoming races! And the 15 miles!

Leave a Reply

