Blisters, Blisters, Blisters

Standard

Blister – noun: a small bubble on the skin filled with serum and caused by friction, burning, or other damages

I have been having some issues with blisters on the outside of my big toes, especially on my right foot.  I have had some issues in the past, but the current issue is directly correlated with one pair of shoes, my Saucony Triumph 10’s.  I at first thought that the issue was because I was trying to break in the shoes, but I now have over 100 miles in the shoes, so they should be sufficiently broken in.  When I wear my Brooks Glycerin 11’s, I have no issues.  The problem arises after roughly four miles of running, and progressively gets worse from there. The issue has gotten so bad at this point that I do not have a blister on my right big toe, but rather a callus.

Callus – noun: a thickened and hardened part of the skin or soft tissue, especially in an area that has been subjected to friction

My first inclination for the cause of the friction was the type of socks that I was wearing.  I have some cotton socks that I wear on occasion, but that is very rare, and honestly, I probably wear them more often with my Brooks.  I have completely eliminated that over the past few weeks, and the problem has not subsided.

I have also tried covering up my hotspot with a band-aid, which helped delay the issue, not solve it.  I have also started to apply Run Guard to my foot, the inside of the sock, outside of the sock, and interior of my shoe to help eliminate the issue.  This has provided some relief, but not much.

Side view

Side view

I talked to some of the experts over at Kindrunner and they relayed to me that they have received some similar complaints from other customers.  They seem to believe that there is a piece of fabric in the toe box that causes the extra friction.  After inspecting the shoes further, that seems highly plausible.  I was also recommended to try a sock from Feetures, which I will be purchasing sometime this week.

Also, I wear a size 10.5 in my normal shoes, but in running shoes I wear an 11.5.  If I continue wearing shoes in the Triumph line, I will probably bump my size up to 12 or go with a wide variety since they are tighter on my foot than the Brooks.  This also might be contributing to my issues.  I am a supinator, and the selection of shoes available for me is slim.  Add in the fact that I am a heavier runner than most, finding a reliable and durable shoe is quite a chore.  Hopefully I can work out the issues with the Saucony Triumph.  Or maybe this issue will be rectified in the next shoe update.

How do you deal with blisters?  Have any certain shoes caused more blisters than others?

7 thoughts on “Blisters, Blisters, Blisters

    • Thankfully, I have not had to experience losing a toenail and I really hope to be able to keep that streak alive through my fall races. At least you are mentally prepared for this in case it happens again!

  1. Very unique coincidences…I am also a supinator; I’m running in a pair of Saucony Ride 4’s (an older model, but WAY cheaper, which was a big deal when I started) and I just recently started getting blisters on the outside of the big toe on my left foot…not break-in, because I have nearly 500 miles on these. Being a relatively smaller guy (<150 lbs) I have a little more latitude in shoe choices, (the Saucony Ride 6 and the Brooks Ghost 6 are on my short list) but I still find it funny we have the same problems. Got a recommendation to go up a size and a half on my next purchase, as well. Hadn't thought about the socks, but I think you are onto something. Thanks for the info!

    • No problem! It is rather amazing that two drastically different body types tend to have a similar problem. I hope that going up a size and a half alleviates your issues.

  2. Thoma

    I’m a super large running woman. (350+lbs). I get horrible, horrible blisters from the base of my pinky toe to nearly my heel that are about 2 inches wide. Nearly the whole half of the bottom of my foot. Did I mention they are horrible?? My first 1/2 marathon, I just ran with them, not knowing what to do besides Vaseline, feetures socks, glycerine shoes, or runners glide. I found a powder online that helped some. Then I realized I just needed to let it callus over, keep using Body Glide, NEVER run with cotton socks, and rotate between three of the exact same shoes, letting each one dry completely each time. I got a medical grade bandage called second skin, and on my 14+ mile days stuck it to the entire side/bottom of my foot. It was a miracle! I had a callus built in a 3 months time. On my full marathon day, I used it out of fear of a blister, but nothing. Lesson learned:no pedicures while running, and calluses are my friends. My bf would just have to deal with runners feet!!!

Leave a Reply

