Motivation And My Weekly Recap

Standard

Last week was a little on the uneventful side, so I am not going to waste your or my time with my typical daily breakdown.  I will say that I stayed on my taper schedule by running four times with only a six mile “long” run on Sunday.  The heat is rising here in Memphis and I want my legs to be fresh for Tupelo this weekend.  This week, however, looks like it should be much more eventful.  The following quote seems to sum up what my thought process needs to be going forward:

A man who dares to waste one hour of time has not discovered the value of life. – Charles Darwin

Today marks the start of my return to school.  After work this afternoon, I am driving across the city to sit in class for three hours.  It has been a little over seven years since I graduated from college, so it might take me a few days to get back into the swing of things.  My schedule is three hours of class on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday after work, so those are going to be rather long days.  Apparently nine hours is considered full time for graduate studies so I am going to juggle my full time school schedule, my full time job, my household duties, and my marathon training program.  Here is another quote that will help my mental approach moving forward.

Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others make it happen. – Michael Jordan

After the Tupelo 14.2 on Sunday, I am adopting Jeff Galloway’s runDisney plan, so most weeks I will run on Tuesday mornings before work, Thursdays before or after work, and once on the weekend.  I will also work in some TRX and other cross training to help promote my overall health.  It is going to be odd only running three times a week, and it is possible that some weeks I will run my typical four times, but I will try my best to follow the plan.  Also, I am incorporating my scheduled races into this training plan to maintain the plan’s structure to help prepare me for the main event in January.

This was a rather short entry, but as I get time this week, I am going to post some pre-race prep posts talking about what I am doing to get ready for Sunday.

2 thoughts on “Motivation And My Weekly Recap

Leave a Reply

