Week in Review

Standard

My half marathon training is plugging right along, even if I am not doing as much cross-training as I need to.  That WILL change this week.  I am certain of this fact.  But at least I have still been logging my miles close to schedule and I have been pain free, so I will take these two positives all day long.

Monday: This was my rest/easy workout day since my long run for the previous week was on Sunday.  I just did some stretching, crunches, planks, and pushups.

Tuesday: I wanted to run five miles, but I had to settle for two.  It was very hot and humid, and early on my run, it felt like I had been hit in the stomach with a sledgehammer.  I almost puked multiple times within the first mile, and I decided not to push it.  I am up to enough weekly miles that this will not hurt me too much.

Wednesday: I did what I should do everyday I want to run during the Memphis summers, run early.  I woke up at 5:30 am and ran 4.34 miles in the muggy morning air. I intended to do some TRX after work, but I decided to donate blood during the annual blood drive at work, and decided against working out.  At least I got some miles in before work.

Thursday: Despite my best intentions, I slept in and had to run after work.  Fortunately for me, a cold front moved in an my run was in sub-90 degree heat with only 80% humidity.  I completed a little over four miles when Susan called and reminded me that we had a neighborhood association meeting to be at in ten minutes.  Whoops!  I hightailed it home and finished with a total of 4.68 miles.

Friday:  I was traveling to my parents’ house so I did not get in any sort of workout.  I like to think that I was resting my legs for my long run on Saturday.  I did get some good news during my drive though.  The parents for one of my closest friends informed me that they would be traveling to Disney to cheer me on in the marathon in January!  That was quite the welcomed surprise!  Susan may already have the whole trip planned, including what shirt she wants me to race in.

Another positive was that I was able to listen to the Atlanta Braves on my drive up.  I think the radio people for the Braves, Jim Powell and Don Sutton, are some of the best in baseball.  I cannot say the same for their typical TV announcers, so it is a treat when I have an excuse to listen the radio guys.

Saturday:  My training plan called for eleven miles this week and that is what I was going to do, regardless of location.  I did not, however, expect it to be as big of a challenge as it was.  My parents live on a country road with no sidewalk or shoulder, so you must run in the middle of the street.  The street is no more than two miles long, so I knew that I would need to incorporate some more streets into my route.  There is a major, four lane highway near my parents that I was assuming was going to be my best bet.  However, when I got there, I noticed that there was somehow no shoulder, so I was stuck running in the turn lane for about half a mile until I could hit another side road.  I spent the next nine miles zigzagging through random country roads to get my miles.

I noticed a stark difference in my Memphis route versus this route.  Memphis is not nearly as hilly as these streets were.  There were several steep climbs and the final mile was all uphill, which I hated while running it, but I am certain that it will pay dividends in the future.  The highest point in the run was 634 feet which immediately followed the lowest point of the entire run at 206 feet.  I need to remember this hill when it gets closer to time to run in the Four Bridges Half Marathon.

Sunday: Today was a recovery day.  After returning home from my weekend away, I went to the gym for a little bit of stationary bike time.  I rode at a solid, but not blistering pace for thirty minutes.  I was not in my calorie burning and weight loss mold, but rather trying to keep the lactic acid from building up too much.  I read a little bit on my iPad while I rode, and once I finished, I did an extra long stretching session.

Next week is now setting up well for my return to a balanced workout schedule.  Also, I will have an exciting announcement coming tomorrow about my first giveaway!

2 thoughts on “Week in Review

  1. I always want to get up early to run, but I never actually do it. I love sleeping in too much.
    I need to keep up with my XT too. I’ll do it when I’m injured, or JUST coming back, but once I up my mileage again, I always slack, which is when I need it the most!

Leave a Reply

