Kindrunner: The Experience

Standard

As I have stated on a couple of occasions prior, specifically here and here, I am an ambassador for Kindrunner.  And since I have previously blogged about what Kindrunner actually is, I will spare you most of the details by giving you the Cliff Notes version to launch this post.  Kindrunner is an online market place to buy running shoes as well as other running essentials.  Whenever you buy shoes from them, you are given the option to send back your old and worn out shoes that are then donated to one of two charities.  In exchange for your old shoes, you get $10 in store credit called Kindness Cash.  It is that simple.  And since I was in the need for a new pair, or two, of running shoes, I thought I would visit Kindrunner as a neophyte and try the process from start to finish.

Be A KindRunner

Be A KindRunner

Kindrunner has a feature called the Custom Fit Process.  Now anyone that has bought a pair of shoes in a specialty shop has certainly experienced the salesman have you go through some rigorous combination of running and walking through the store and on a treadmill, asked numerous questions, and had your try on several pairs of shoes to find the correct pair for yourself.  This is a fantastic process to go through, and is vital for new runners.  The issue is that several of these stores have limited inventory and finding time to go through this process can be tricky at times.  Well, Kindrunner has found a way to bring this process into your living room, or office, or even your car!  Just search for the Custom Fit Process tab on their site and begin to enter the required information.  You are asked about your current shoes, training pace, weekly mileage, pros and cons of you current shoes, your weight, and so on to get a nice base of information.  You also include a picture of the bottom of each (left and right) of your current running shoe along with any pictures of our shoe that you might feel is helpful in assessing your running shoe needs.  I kind of threw them an unintentional curveball because I listed my two current pairs of shoes, but uploaded photos from a retired pair. The reason for this was that my retired pair of Nike Vomeros had such a distinct wear pattern that I felt I would get a more accurate shoe assessment from them.  You also select a day and time in which one of their experts can contact you and discuss the information that you have submitted.

This was on my porch this evening!

This was on my porch this evening!

My phone call was with Kindrunner Patrick and lasted just under fifteen minutes.  We discussed my two current shoes, Nike Lunarglide 4 and Saucony Progrid Cohesion 6.  We also discussed what led to my injury back in March and the wear pattern on my old Nike Vomeros.  Patrick also pointed out that my Lunarglides were not ideal for supinators.  Of course, this was news to me because those were the shoes that I was steered towards a few months ago due to my supination by someone who I will no longer listen to.  Patrick advised me to be wary of the Lunarglides since it will add pressure to my peroneal tendons and could lead to some IT band issues in the future.  These shoes have been since retired.  Patrick also pointed out that my wear pattern was much greater on my right shoe than my left shoe, which honestly is something that I should have noticed, but never did.  I guess that is why I have had blistering problems only on the big toe of my right foot.  This is probably why my right foot was the victim of peroneal tendonitis.  We also discussed how it would be wise to continue rotating through two or three pairs of shoes why training for multiple reasons.  One is that it allows the rubber in the shoes to recover from the pounding of my runs and another is by having two different shoes, I will work different muscle groups with each shoe.  This rotation will also help prolong the life of each pair of shoes.  Patrick also confirmed that I should keep buying my running shoes a size larger than my everyday shoes due to the amount your foot swells during runs, especially in the heat of the summer.  I was happy to hear that I was doing some things right!

We discussed several pairs of potential shoes, including Saucony Triumph, Brooks Ghost and Glycerin, and Mizuno Wave Rider.  I had previously tried the Triumph at a Saucony event at the local Fleet Feet and the projected mileage on it was the greatest of the shoes that we discussed.  For these reasons, I chose the Triumph for my next pair of running shoes.  I will probably chose one of the others in the near future to replace my Cohesions since they are fading fast.  I know this was kind of a boring choice, but with my mileage rapidly increasing, so I needed the safe bet.

Soles 4 Souls

Soles 4 Souls

I ordered the shoes on Monday afternoon and they were delivered on Wednesday, free of charge.  It is hard to argue with that kind of turnaround!  As soon as my order was shipped, I was sent two shipping notifications.  One was for my shoes that were being delivered.  And the second was for the return label of my retired shoes to Soles 4 Souls.

This is always a great sight!

This is always a great sight!

When I opened my package today, I was greeted with an unexpected surprise.  I thought the promotion had ended, but I had received some free socks for life!  Yep, the first 500 customers of Kindrunner qualify for a free pair of running sock each time that they order shoes from the site!  It is just another incentive for me to keep being a Kindrunner!  So of course, when I take my new shoes on their maiden voyage tomorrow, I will use the new socks as well.

Free socks for life!

Free socks for life!

Top of the shoes

Top of the shoes

Side view

Side view

Back of shoe

Back of shoe

The bottom of the shoes

The bottom of the shoes

These may not be as bright as my Lunarglides, but they still are sharp and will catch the eye.  My first run cannot come quick enough in these!  I will also be adding Lock Laces to them soon as well.

Leave a Reply

