Motivation Monday: Quotes

Standard

All runners love their motivation mantras and quotes, so I thought that I would share some of my favorite ones.  These are not all running only quotes, but ones that can be easily applied to running.  I can make this page 10,000 words and would not cover them all, so I am going to limit this post to twenty quotes, so here we go.

Some people train knowing they’re not working as hard as other people. I can’t fathom how they think. – Alberto Salazar.

Most people run to see who is the fastest.  I run to see who has the most guts. – Steve Prefontaine

I’ve always believed that if you put in the work, the results will come.  I can’t do things half-heartedly.  Because I know if I do, then I can expect half-hearted results. – Michael Jordan

Success is not final, failure is not fatal; it is the courage to continue that counts. – Winston Churchill

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

Don’t bother to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself. – William Faulkner

Human beings are made up of flesh and blood, and a miracle fiber called courage. – Gen.  George Patton

Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put in it. – Oprah Winfrey

The miracle isn’t that I finished.  The miracle is that I had the courage to start. – John Bingham

But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” – Matthew 19:26

Build up your weaknesses until they become your strong points. – Knute Rockne

The harder you work, the harder it is to surrender. – Vince Lombardi

Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do. – John Wooden

Energy and persistence conquer all things. – Benjamin Franklin

If you can dream it, you can do it. – Walt Disney

People say motivation doesn’t last.  Well, neither does bathing.  That’s why we recommend it daily. – Zig Ziglar

Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off the goal. – Henry Ford

Believe you can and you’re halfway there. – Theodore Roosevelt

Stay hungry.  Stay foolish. – Steve Jobs

The will to win means nothing if you don’t have the will to prepare. – Juma Ikangaa, 1989 NYC Marathon winner

I know that I was a little all over the place with these quotes, but I think each one has some value while running.  These quotes were presented in no particular order and are my personal favorites.  They all may not bu your cup of tea, but they are worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

