My Oatmeal Review

Standard

A few weeks ago I was presented with the opportunity to review some products from My Oatmeal, a new company that specializes in customized oatmeal, as well as powdered peanut butter (that review will come at a later date).  Being that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and that I am always willing to try something new, I decided to give My Oatmeal a shot.  I was given a discount code that provided me a bag of PB Lean as well as a bag of my custom blend of oatmeal.  I also decided to purchase a second bag of oatmeal from their mystery bag selection to maximize the amount of healthy oatmeal at my disposal.

All 3 My Oatmeal products

All 3 My Oatmeal products

The process of building you oatmeal is very straightforward and hassle free.  First, you chose how much oatmeal that you want.  You have the options of 1, 2.25, or 4 pound bags, depending on your needs.  Since I was creating my own bag and the really, this is all the discount code covered, I found it prudent to order a one pound bag of oatmeal.  Next, you chose the type of oats that you want to use.  There are five varieties to choose from, but I went with the five grain rolled oats and flax.  Then, you chose a flavor to add.  There are forty-eight different flavors to experiment with, so you should probably never get bored with a particular flavor.  I chose dark caramel, but I was very tempted to roll the dice and give key lime pie a shot! Maybe next time.  Next, you add dried fruit to your mix if you so desire.  There are seventeen fruits to choose from and you can request light, regular, or heavy amounts of any fruit you chose.  I went with the dark raisins in a regular distribution.  The next step is to add sweetener to your mix, and this is a suggested step for any mix in which a flavor was added.  I chose to add brown cane sugar to the mix.  After that, you may add nuts and seeds to your mix.  There are ten varieties here, including the PB Lean.  I went with one of my personal favorites by adding sliced almonds to the mix.  Finally, you name your mix.  I went with a boring title of Caramel Delight.  When I order again, I vow to be more creative!

Caramel Delight

Caramel Delight

Pricing works by the quantity of oatmeal you order and by what you add too it.  The more fruit, flavors, nuts, and such you add, the higher the price of the oatmeal.  The oatmeal that I created would cost you about $9.  There are also price decreases when you order multiple bags of oatmeal, so once you discover what you like, you can buy in bulk and save.

Caramel Delight

Caramel Delight

You can also buy some premixed oatmeal recipes on the site, and honestly, I almost bought a couple of these flavors.  They have Todd’s Forrest Blend, Dirty Banana Oatmeal, AppleDoodle Oatmeal, and Wood Smash Peaches and Cream.  After reading the description for each, I was certain that they were good, but I decided that I wanted to create my own for my first time out of the gate.

There also is a mystery blend option that you can choose.  This is a crapshoot bag of oatmeal.  Basically, when the company creates flavors for customers, there are leftovers that would go to waste unless My Oatmeal figured out a way to utilize the excess.  So My Oatmeal takes these leftover oats and mix them in one pound bags and sell them on the cheap on their site.  You and the company have no clue what exactly you are getting.  You may get one flavor, you may get five flavors!  All that can be guaranteed is that you will get some combination of oats, dried fruits, flavors, sweeteners, and nuts.  After reading this, I decided to give it a shot and ordered a bag out of my own hard-earned cash.

One serving

One serving

First, let’s review my custom blend, Caramel Delight.  The first time that I opened the bag, I immediately could smell caramel, which was a great thing.  I also noticed raisins and almonds mixed throughout, another great thing.  I could not wait to give this blend a try, so that is what I was determined to have for breakfast the following morning.  Of course, I did not read the preparation directions so the next morning, after completing my four mile run, I was a little pressed for time when I grabbed the bag of oatmeal.  As I began to rad the instructions, I realized that this was going to be a little more involved of a process than your usual bowl of oatmeal.  And this is something that I should have known being that this is 100% natural ingredients, but I just did not consider that.  Despite the time constraints, I stubbornly forged ahead with my oatmeal breakfast.  After microwaving, stirring, covering, microwaving, stirring, covering, microwaving, stirring, and such, I finally had my first taste of Caramel Delight.  It was good, just with very little caramel flavor.  I tried a few more bites, and the same result.  I am sure that my nose was tricking me because I smelled the caramel, and I honestly was expecting to be overpowered by the flavor, but I was not.  But I did enjoy the bowl and the plethora of raisins and almonds.  After a couple of days of eating this oatmeal, I would definitely order the same recipe again, but it will be awhile until I get back to it since there are so many more recipes that I want to experiment with first.  I will say that the microwave instructions call for one cup of water and half a cup of oats.  I cut the water down to three-fourths of a cup after my first bowl, and I had much better results for my preferences.

No clue what is in here

No clue what is in here

Now, let’s tackle the mystery bag.  The first thing that I noticed was that the bag had no nutritional values and no cooking instructions since there was no real recipe of what was in the bag.  In fact, there is just a question mark on the back of the bag!  This made me chuckle.  I decided to prepare this oatmeal just like my bag of Caramel Delight, and the results were perfect.  For what is in the oatmeal, I am not entirely sure yet.  I know that whatever sweetener was used is sweeter than the brown cane sugar in Caramel Delight, there are raisins, mangoes, blueberries, pecans, seeds of some sort, and oats, but honestly, I have no clue had to determine what kind of oats.  Also, I cannot pinpoint any specific flavors as of yet.  But I will say that each bowl that I have had of the mystery blend has been great.  Honestly, it has been a pleasant surprise.  I will be buying another mystery bag in future when I get bored with creating my own custom mixes.

A look into the mystery bag

A look into the mystery bag

My first couple of pictures of the oatmeal did not come out in the most appetizing of manners.  I guess I should have hired one of those photographer that take pictures of fast food items for their menus.  They can make a $1 cheeseburger look gourmet and then when you get it, it looks like you drastically overpaid by paying $1.

My bottom line for My Oatmeal is that it is a cool and healthy concept.  You do not have to add all of the options to each blend, so it is very affordable as well.  I cannot comment how beneficial the product is for weight loss, but I would imagine that it is better than a per-packaged packet of oatmeal from the store.

I have been trying the PB Lean as well, and that review should be posted towards the end of this week and the beginning of next week after I can use it a few different ways, including in my oatmeal.

My Oatmeal did provide me with a free sample to try and review, but this fact did not influence or alter my opinion of the product.  All views in this post are my honest assessment of the product and I am not being financially compensated for these views.

One thought on “My Oatmeal Review

Leave a Reply

