Motivation Monday Returns!

Standard

It has been a few weeks since I was able to post a Motivation Monday entry, but it is triumphantly returning this week!

First, I want to share a little something that I stumbled upon in an online running group that I am a member of.  Someone had seen a picture of an iPhone alarm that they thought was funny and shared it with the rest of the group.  The alarm read “If Forrest Gump can run for over 3 years, you can get your ass on a 30 minute run this morning.”  I thought that was great and I should incorporate something similar into my morning alarms.  I am in the middle of training and will be until at least the middle of January, so it is very important to maintain my schedule.  And since I live in Memphis, with its heat and humidity, running in the early mornings is vital to my health and sanity.  Therefore, the following are what my four alarms tell me each morning:

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

If Forrest Gump can run for 3 years, you can run 4 miles this morning.

Time to make the donuts. (Idea, not actual process stolen from an old school Dunkin Donuts commercial featuring Fred the Baker saying this every morning)

You’d be done if you got up an hour ago.

Time to make the donuts

Time to make the donuts

I will probably rotate some of these sayings throughout the year, and I will be turning off the snooze function on my alarms so I can’t rest for “10 more minutes” because those ten minutes become thirty routinely.  The various times that I wake up during the week is dependent on the distance that I am running, time I need to report to work, and so on.

My current 4 morning alarms

My current 4 morning alarms

Another motivational item that I came across is something else that I try to consider when I am wavering about getting out of bed and running my miles.  It also serves as nice reminder that we all are not Steve Prefontaine, but we are still runners.  We all get caught up in pace and so, but the most important aspect is getting out there.  On these hot June and July mornings, I need all the inspiration that I can get!

Nice way to look at it

Nice way to look at it

Now that I have said all of this, I decided to sleep in this morning instead of completing my four miles in the cooler morning air, so I will be either sweating away in the 90 degree heat this afternoon or being bored to death on the treadmill.  If you have any motivational quotes, scriptures, and mantras that you like, feel free to share it here.

6 thoughts on “Motivation Monday Returns!

  1. I can totally relate to having problems getting up early to run…my mind and body just don’t like getting up early and I struggle to do it. I live in SC so early morning runs would make it easier as well but I just can’t seem to convince myself of that when the alarm goes off…grrrr…keep those motivational thoughts coming!

  2. When I’m in the middle of a tough run or a difficult workout, I remember a quote that a friend shared with me a few years ago. He says “I will not relent” to himself. It works for me! Love the alarm message idea!

  3. Nice post! My favourite one (which I’m nicking off you) is “You’d be done if you got up an hour ago” – if I’m feeling tired I remind myself “Unlike so many other people, at least you CAN run”. 😀

Leave a Reply

