Warrior Wednesday

Standard

Just three days until the Warrior Dash in Jackson, MS, and if I’m not ready physically by now, I never will be.  Preparing for a race is much like a test, you are either ready or you are not, cramming is virtually useless.  But on the same token, I can’t just ignore my workouts for the week leading up to a race.  This is my first obstacle/mud run, so I am 100% certain how to properly prepare the week of the race.  If this were a half marathon or such, I would have my normal taper schedule.

Today’s workout was a run, some weight lifting, and some more running.  My new gym is roughly two miles from the house, so I ran there, did a modified Warrior Dash circuit, and then ran home.  The combined four miles is the longest that I have been able to run in six weeks, and while I was a little slow, it still felt good.  The circuit was two sets of ten exercises, with alternating :30 of lifting, :30 of rest, and a one minute break between the two sets.  The following is what the sets looked like:

  • DB Bench Press
  • DB Bicep Curls
  • Leg Press
  • Chair Dips
  • Leg Extensions
  • DB Lateral Raises
  • Leg Curls
  • DB Front Raises
  • DB Butterflies
  • Side Crunches

The workout felt great, and I only had mild soreness in my foot during it, so that is a positive.  The only real downside was the weird looks I got walking into the gym after a two mile run in 85 degree heat with 100% humidity.  And by downside, I mean for the other patrons, not me.

Course for Saturday

Course for Saturday

The above picture is the course that I will be running on Saturday morning.  The distance is 3.34 miles with twelve obstacles.  And from the looks of it, they are incorporating some of their obstacles from their new Iron Warrior circuit as well as their traditional obstacles.  I am not going to get into much of a break down of the obstacles tonight, but rather wait until I experience them first hand.  I probably will not have a camera to capture photographic evidence of each one, but I’ll do my best to be descriptive.

I have two more sponsors for the Platinum Sombrero 5K that I will be writing about tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

