So About That Foot Pain

Standard

After work today, I agreed to meet Susan and Beau at the dog park before going to the gym, and it probably is a good thing that I did.  During the course of my half an hour there, the pain in my foot continued to grow.  My pain was noticeable, so Susan called her mom, the nurse, and it was decided that I needed to go to the after hours orthopedic services at Campbell’s Clinic.  My x-rays didn’t show anything out of the ordinary, but the doctor still feared that I had a stress fracture.  After a few tests and considerable pain, the doctor determined that I more than likely have peroneal tendonitis and this means that I will not be running for at least a month.  Goodbye Germantown Half Marathon and don’t even bother attempting to be one of the last 100 registrants for the Oak Barrel Half Marathon.  To help my foot heal quicker, the doctor ordered me to wear a walking boot and prescribed me a steroid pack so maybe I can return to running in early April.  I’m rather bummed that this is happening and it sucks that I can’t complete my goal of a race each month in 2013, but if I can get the problem remedied, it is probably for the best.

This is going to take some getting used to.

This is going to take some getting used to.

And the part that is the most depressing to me is that I can’t really do any cardio for the month.  I am more than a little worried about how much weight I may gain during this prolonged period of inactivity.  If anyone knows of any good workouts a one legged man can do, please pass them along.  And hopefully, I can make a triumphant return on April 20 at the Warrior Dash in Jackson, MS.

Leave a Reply

