Sunday Funday

Standard

It has been a couple of weeks since I have been able to go for a long run so today was very important for my training even though I’m firmly in my taper phase.  And of course, being sick all week was not ideal leading into my ten mile run today.  At least our run of thirty degree days has subsided and I was able to start my run with sunny skies and a temperature around forty-five degrees.  My first couple of miles went well, and were in the range of 9:45 per mile, but then I hit a wall and the last eight miles were a struggle.  My fastest mile was my first and the slowest was the ninth mile.  I did at least cut twenty-four seconds off of my pace for the last mile, so I was able to finish strong.  I could tell that I hadn’t run a long distance in awhile and I hope that doesn’t come back to haunt me in two weeks during the Germantown Half Marathon.  I finished today’s run of 10.02 at a slightly disappointing 10:17 pace.  This pace is a little slower than my last month plus of training, but would be a personal record by a few seconds if I could maintain it for an entire half marathon.  Of course, being sick and somewhat static for the week, my time should be somewhat encouraging.  Also, my right calf was tight and sore by the end, but I think it should be nothing major.

In other news, our trivia team was not able to finish in the money last night.  We were within striking distance for awhile but our lack of knowledge of short lived 1970’s sitcoms, Fleetwood Mac, European bodies of water, the Amazing Randy, and Roman catapults cost us last night.  The final question was put the following four items in order, from largest to smallest:

  • Fleetwood Mac Top 40 Hits
  • Number of States That Signed the Original Warsaw Pact in 1955
  • Mike Schmidt’s Number With the Phillies
  • Number of Neck Vertebrae in a Giraffe

So, I knew that Schmidt’s number was 20, but we were uncertain on the other three.  I fought hard to put the Giraffe vertebrae as the smallest simply because it seemed kind of like a trick answer.  We estimated that Fleetwood Mac had ten top forty hits and sixteen states signed the original Warsaw Pact because there was lots of possible states to sign it.  We got these two wrong.  The final answer was as follows:

  • #20 for Mike Schmidt
  • 18 Top 40 Hits by Fleetwood Mac (Seriously?)
  • 8 States Signed the Original Warsaw Pact
  • 7 Neck Vertebrae in a Giraffe

Oh well, we now have some more useless trivia committed to memory for the future I suppose.

Today, after my run, Susan and I decided to take Beau back to the dog park.  Beau had a great time, even though there were several aggressive dogs there today.  Sadly, the wolf dog was not there again today, but there were a couple of other doodle mixes there that Beau immediately ran to.  I’m glad that he steered clear of most of the aggressive dogs today, especially the two dogs that got into three fights within the first fifteen minutes we were there.

For any people out there that is not a hockey fan, the Chicago Blackhawks versus the Detroit Red Wings game this afternoon would have been the best chance for the sport to convert you.  Coming into the game, the Blackhawks had scored at least one point in twenty-one straight games to open the season and have yet to lose during regulation.  The game was scoreless into late in the third period when the Red Wings scored a goal and the streak looked to be in jeopardy.  Of course, the Blackhawks tied up the game with about two minutes to go and the game went to overtime.  The game ended up in a shootout and the Blackhawks scored the only goal during the shootout and their point streak is now at twenty-two games.  The NHL might as well given them the Stanley Cup now, sadly.

 

Leave a Reply

