Warrior Wednesday – Sick Edition

Standard

I couldn’t stand sitting around the house another day, avoiding my workout plans so I decided to risk it and go for a run.  My sinus and throat issues were a little better, but probably not good enough to be running in 42 degree weather.  It is certainly a good thing that I started my run before Susan got off of work because she would have definitely done her best to veto this decision.

It felt good to get back on the pavement, even if I wasn’t in optimum health.  This was my first run outside since the Move It Memphis 10K on February 16 and it was good to run unassisted from a treadmill again.  I ran my usual neighborhood course with one small exception, I incorporated a loop to my friend’s house to check his mail, pump the water off of his pool cover, and make sure no squatters had moved in overnight.  This is the house of my buddy that got married over the weekend and it is the least I could do to help out.  My run went very well, and I was able to complete 4.51 miles at a 9:25 pace.  My coughing was very subdued during the run, but picked up quite a bit during my stretching period.  After the run, I decided to tackle one of my Warrior Dash circuits since I hadn’t done one in awhile.  I completed the following circuit:

  • Pushups
  • Jump Rope
  • Squats
  • V-Sits
  • Lunges
  • Supermans
  • Chair Dips
  • Stair Run
  • Glute Bridges
  • Bicycle

I was drained after the workout and might of pushed it a little too much, but I am glad that I gave it a shot.  My sinus and throat issues really flared up after the circuit.  I am telling myself that the workout is helping me get rid of the infection, so lets hope that I am right.  A third sick day from work will be relaxing in one sense, but would be very time consuming to recover from once I got back to the office.  But, since I work in one of the biggest cesspools in Memphis, I am certainly not going to push it too much.  We shall see in the morning.

Leave a Reply

