Late Week Update

Standard

This week has been quite hectic at work, and when you factor in Valentine’s Day, the end result is no new posts for a couple of days.  I did, however, get in workouts on each of the last three days and I am gearing up for a race tomorrow.  With that being said, today’s post will be on the lengthier side.

Wednesday: I decided to try out one of the new treadmills at the gym.  They are quite a bit more sophisticated than the treadmills that they were replacing and I would guess that some will find them intimidating.  They are WiFi equipped so you can log in with an iFit account to track your workout or just surf the web while running.  There are touchscreen controls and a built in iPod/iPhone dock built (unless you have an iPhone 5).   There were two preset courses on the machine, one in Cape Town, South Africa and the other was on the coast of Monterey, CA.  I chose Montery and the display screen toggled between Goggle street images, satellite views, and a topographical map of the area.  The course varied between a -3% and 4% grade.  I ended up running 4.98 miles at a 9:18 pace.  I was quite pleased with the end result.  I want to check out the other bells and whistles on the machine in the upcoming weeks.

The fancy new treadmill at the gym.

The fancy new treadmill at the gym.

In addition to my run, I did a Warrior Dash circuit.  I upped my exercise time to thirty seconds per move with the normal thirty second rest time.  I completed two sets each of the following exercises:

  • Leg Press
  • DB Bench Press
  • Pulldown
  • Leg Curl
  • Plate Crunch
  • DB Step Ups
  • Bicep Curl
  • DB Front Raise
  • Squat Jumps
  • V-Sit Off Bench

You wouldn’t think adding just ten seconds would be that noticeable of a change, but it definitely was!  I felt the effects of the extra work before the end of the first set.  But, in the end, it is worth the end result.

Thursday:  I took a half day off of work so I could finish preparing my Valentine’s Day dinner for the wife.  I printed her a menu and transformed our dining room into a private restaurant just for the two of us.  I grilled filet mignon with a wedge salad, Fleming’s style scalloped potatoes, corn souffle, yeast rolls, and chocolate croissants for dessert.  She was very impressed with dinner, and so were all of her friends that she bragged to about it.  I also got her some flowers and Peter Pan on Blu-Ray (she is a Disney fanatic).  She got me the race medal display that I posted about previously as well as an infographic poster of Sid Bream’s slide, (yep, that’s two links) which is one of the greatest moments in Atlanta Braves history.  I have a bobblehead of this on my desk at work as well as at the house.  Yes, I am a gigantic sports nerd, especially when it comes to the Braves.  I will post a picture of the poster when we get it framed.  It is an odd size, so we have to get a frame made for it.

The Braves promo pic of the bobblehead

The Braves promo pic of the bobblehead

While prepping dinner, I was able to escape for a few minutes to get in a run.  It was nearly seventy degrees here in Memphis, so it was much warmer than your usual February run!  I ran 3.26 miles at a 9:44 pace, that might of been better if I didn’t have to battle someone’s pit bull around mile two.  Seriously, who lets their dog, a pit bull at that, run freely through a busy city neighborhood?  He nipped at my heels a few times, but never got a hold of me.  Usually when I encounter a dog like this, his/her owner is nearby and keeps the dog contained, but not on this occasion.  I guess I need to start running with a stick or something.

The flowers I sent to Susan at work.

The flowers I sent to Susan at work.

Dinner at BK's Prime Chop House

Dinner at BK’s Prime Chop House

I also used this idle time to go pick up my race packet for the Move It Memphis 10K that I will be running on Saturday.  There really wasn’t too many goodies in there, but the shirts are cool.  It is a baby blue, long sleeved Zorrel cotton blend Dri-Balance shirt.  And with a projected temperature of thirty-nine degrees at race start time, the long sleeves will come in handy with the participants.  I’ll post a pic of the shirt with my race racap tomorrow afternoon.

Friday:  I decided to take it easy on my mileage today, so I just ran an half a mile warm up before doing my Warrior Dash circuit for the day.  My circuit consisted of the following:

  • DB Lunges
  • DB Military Press
  • DB Row (:30 on each side)
  • Leg Curl
  • Russian Twist
  • Lateral Lunge
  • Bench Dips
  • DB Lateral Raise
  • Calf Raise
  • Strait Leg Raises

It was a good workout and hopefully I won’t be too sore for my run tomorrow.  I love Friday afternoons at the gym because I am virtually the only person there, so I can use whatever equipment I need without any delays.  It is quite peaceful.

I guess I’m going to call it a night so I don’t oversleep in the morning.

Leave a Reply

