Treadmill Hills

Standard

I took yesterday off from working out after giving blood, so my running schedule has been pushed back a day.  That means my twelve miler will be Sunday and today was a short training run.  I made it to the gym for the first time all week so I could utilize the treadmill to do the hill training  program that I had forgotten to do until today.  Running on the treadmill isn’t quite as scenic as doing my hill work running the roads, but it is much easier to control and coordinate, most of the time.  I decided to run for thirty minutes and the program was designed a little different than I was expecting.  I chose level 4, which meant the hills were a grade of 9% grade, but the speed was just a thirty minute per mile pace.  Obviously, that wasn’t going to work, so I bumped the pace up to a ten minute mile, but every time the elevation would change, the pace would drop back down.  This was quite annoying, but after a few minutes, I was able to finally get the speed stay constant.  The course started with a warmup, then would alternate between 9% hills and 1% rest periods.  There were no gradual elevation changes, just peaks and rests.  Next week, I may try the calorie burner which gradually builds to the apex, then slowly comes back down, but I’m not sure yet.

After, my running workout, I did the last remaining Warrior Dash circuit.  I did :20 exercise, :30 rest again today, but starting next week, the circuit times will increase.  Today’s circuit consisted of the following:

  • Pushups With Feet On A Chair
  • Stair Runs
  • Jump Lunges
  • Wipers
  • Jump Rope
  • 45 Lunges
  • Chair Step Ups
  • Burpees
  • Glute Bridges
  • Russian Twists

My first impression after the circuit was that burpees are as hard as I remember from high school football.  Also, doing the workout at the gym required a lot more running around than if I were doing it at home, so that only enhanced my workout.  I’m sure some of my fellow gym patrons wondered what this sweaty weirdo is running around the gym, going up and down the stairs, jumping on chairs, and the such, but I guess no one is there to judge too much.

Tomorrow will be another day off from running, but will be a TRX workout day.

 

Leave a Reply

