Warrior Wednesday & New Shoes, Day 2

Standard

I didn’t work yesterday, so I was able to complete my run and Warrior dash circuit in the daylight hours for once!  I decided to try out the new shoes again since I was doing another relatively short run (3.54 miles) and I wanted to see if they seemed as tight on Wednesday as I perceived them to be on Tuesday.  The day was perfect, with no clouds and temps in the upper sixty’s when I started my run around 3:00 pm.  My shoes felt great, and I didn’t think that they felt as tight as Tuesday, but I’m sure some of that I’m over the initial reaction to the new shoes.  My run went great, I guess partially because I wasn’t mentally worn down from work and the near perfect running weather.  I ran my 3.54 miles at a 9:18 pace, and that would have been even better if I wouldn’t have twisted my ankle slightly around the two and a half mile mark.  That is the perils of running on sidewalks in a a city full of trees.  The twist wasn’t too bad, and using the proven “walk it off” or rather ran it off method, by the time I got home, there really wasn’t any lingering pain.

Wednesday’s Warrior Dash circuit was the second of three earmarked for at home completion and I felt really strong as I was doing it.  I stuck with the twenty second exercise, thirty second rest splits because I wanted to get familiar with the exercises first before pushing myself too much.  The following was my Wednesday circuit:

  • Diamond Pushup
  • Double Leg Hop (Over a Line)
  • Reverse Lunge
  • Straight Leg Flutters
  • Side Crunches
  • Stair Run With Hands (Hard to do in a one story house…)
  • Side Lunge
  • Run In Place
  • Spiders
  • Side Crunches

Tonight was supposed to be another four mile run and TRX, but the Lifeblood Mobile was at work today, and I was instructed to do “no strenuous activity for the rest of the day.”  When I asked about a light run and some weight resistance exercises, I got the “what the hell did you just ask me look” so ” I’ll gauge how I feel when I get off of work to determine what, if any, exercising I shall do.  Most of the warnings are given with an abundance of caution, and since I donate regularly, I am confident that I will know if I will be able to handle a workout.  If I can’t, I’ll just do my run, TRX, and the last Warrior Dash circuit tomorrow, with my long run on Sunday instead of Saturday.

Leave a comment