Friday Workout

Standard

Today I went to the gym and tackled the second of six Warrior Dash circuit workouts, and since today was one of my designated non-running days, I decided to hit the elliptical for my cardio warmup.  I finished fifteen minutes on the elliptical at a vigorous pace and then moved on to the free weights.  I didn’t pay close attention to today’s circuit, but as I started it, I noticed that it was a leg heavy workout, which probably wasn’t the wisest decision with a nine mile run looming in the morning.  The circuit was based on the same schedule as Wednesday, adhering to the 20 seconds of work, 30 seconds of rest, completing one circuit, resting for one minute, then repeating.  Today’s exercises were as follows:

  • DB Lunges
  • DB Military Press
  • DB Row
  • Leg Curl
  • Russian Twist
  • Lateral Lunge
  • Bench Dips
  • DB Lateral Raise
  • Calf Raise
  • Straight Leg Raises

I wasn’t 100% certain if the intent for the moves that focus on one side of the body (i.e. DB Row) were intended to rotate from side to side or focus on each side for the entire 20 seconds.  I opted to spend the entire 20 seconds for each side.  I figured that it was better to do the extra work rather than short change myself on the exercises.  Once I finished both sets, I decided to hit the elliptical for another five minutes just to round out my workout to an even forty-five minutes.

I noticed during my stretches that my calves were tightening up a little bit, so I’ll probably stretch a little bit more tonight to insure, or hopefully insure, my legs don’t hurt too much to tackle the nine miles tomorrow.  But, of course if they are, I can always run on Sunday

Now, it’s dinnertime and a trip to the in-laws, so I’ll leave the post as is.  I’ll update tomorrow about my weekly long run.

Leave a Reply

