Mid-Week Training

Standard

I’m sitting on the couch, watching the Grizz vs Lakers game (Grizz are up 83-73 after 3) and thought it would be a good time to update my weekly training.  I know these posts aren’t the most exciting, but they are a part of the process, I suppose.

Monday was a rest day, as is my custom after my long runs.  Rest is very important from time to tome, and it can be very difficult to adhere to this sometimes.  I tend to get ultra focused on my goals and forget that I need to give my body a break, especially during weeks that my weight fluctuates a little further north than I find acceptable.  When I do decide to do more than stretch on my rest days, I will do some light bike riding or a little bit of walking, just to stay loose.  On Monday, I didn’t even do that.  I just ran a few errands, watched some basketball, and took advantage of a holiday from work.

Tony Wroten just blocked Kobe Bryant.  Life is good.  And Darrell Arthur has 18 off the bench.  I love beating the Lakers.

Tuesday, I wanted to do a combo of running and TRX, so I logged my miles first, then did a quick TRX routine.  I ran my favorite route through the neighborhood, which is the norm for my mid-week runs.  It was about 36 degrees when I hit the pavement, but honestly, it felt much colder to me.  I almost never grab a beanie to run in, but I had to on Tuesday.  And of course, half a mile in, I remembered why I never run with my beanie, and I had to carry for the rest of the run.  I ran 4.32 miles and my average pace was at my recent norm of 9:46, but my times were getting noticeably slower with each mile.  When I completed my run, I did feel good, and that is the most important fact.

I didn’t have a workout scripted when I started my TRX routine, but I didn’t have any trouble choosing some challenging and well-rounded exercises to perform.  I did my standard warmup stretches and squats, then did two consecutive cycles of rows, bicep curls, chest presses, overhead triceps extensions, resisted torso extensions, one armed bicep curls, one armed row, low and high ab crunches, pushups, planks, pikes, crunches, and leg lowering.  While typing it, it seemed like a ton a moves, and I guess it was, but TRX is so fast paced, so it only took about 25 minutes to complete.  If they way my body felt post workout, I think that I did a decent job of pushing myself with my exercises and plan.

Grizz win 106-93!

Today, I went to the gym, my long lost friend.  Now that I have my TRX home system and the weather has been relatively mild for my runs, I have been doing the bulk of my exercising at home.  But, I am paying for a gym membership, so I decided to get my money’s worth tonight.  I warmed up by running 3.13 miles on the treadmill (I mean, I do need to get my miles in) at a 9:40 pace.  Then I moved on to do some weight training.  Since I am competing in a couple of obstacle races in April, I thought I might want to do a little training for them.  Warrior Dash offers some good workout plans to utilize in training for their race, so I’m going to do their recommended circuits two to three times a week in addition to my running and TRX.

The setup is simple.  You do each exercise for 20 seconds, rest for 30 seconds, then move to the next exercise.  After you complete all ten exercises, you rest for one minute and then repeat.  After a couple of weeks, you up the amount of time you work versus the amount of time you rest.  They provide six circuits, three for home and three for the gym, to choose from.  For best results, they suggest that you cycle through all six while training, and that is what I intend to do.  Today’s exercises were as follows:

Leg Press

DB Bench Press

Pulldown

Leg Curl

Plate Crunch

DB Step Ups

Bicep Curl

DB Front Raise

Squat Jumps (I’m sure other gym goers loved watching this)

V-Sit Off Bench

I wasn’t sure on how much weight to use on each exercise, but after completing the circuit, I think I will bump it up a little bit next time I attempt this circuit.  I am very interested to see how sore I am in the morning or if my TRXing has address a lot of the same muscle groups as today’s workout did.

Now that I have thoroughly bored y’all with my training update, I will sign off of here to tackle some reading comprehensive GRE practice.

2 thoughts on “Mid-Week Training

    • I love having the home option, especially since the TRX classes at my gym fill very quickly. You can probably do about 85% of the moves correctly when the straps are attached to a door. When it warms up a bit and when it doesn’t get dark so quickly, I’ll probably do more of the training outdoors. I still want to attend one TRX class a week so I can learn new moves and insure my form is good.

Leave a Reply

