My running plan for 2013

Standard

My plan for 2013 is simple. I want to actually have a running plan.  I don’t want to train for one race for a couple of months and ignore running the rest of the year.  But, I also don’t want to set ridiculous goals (like an marathon every month) for the year that would lead to injury or apathy.  So, I thought it would be fun to do a race each month of the year.  Each race was be of varying distances and design.  I would do some 5K’s, 10K’s, a half marathon or two, a couple of obstacle races, and anything that looks enjoyable and feasible.  The 2013 schedule is as follows:

Jan1 – Resolution 5K (a virtual race for Fortheloveofthekids.com)

Feb 16 – Move It Memphis 10K – Memphis, TN

Mar 17 – Germantown Half Marathon – Germantown, TN

Apr 13 – Run For Your Lives (Obstacle race in which I will run from zombies) – Chapmansboro, TN

Apr 20 – Warrior Dash (obstacle race) – Jackson, MS

May – TBD Maybe Memphis in May 10K or Zoom thru the Zoo

Jun – TBD Maybe Navy 10 Nautical Miler – Millington, TN

Jul – TBD No clue yet

Aug – TBD Probably the Elvis 5K

Sep – TBD The Tupelo 14.2 is tempting, but damn will it be hot, especially during training. The Cooper Young 4 Miler is another strong choice.

Oct 20 – 4 Bridges Half Marathon – Chattanooga, TN – This is how Susan and I are spending out first anniversary.  I probably will have to get her a REALLY good gift!

Nov – TBD True Blue 5K + a new race

Dec – TBD This is still up in the air. I want to do the St Jude half again, but I would like to try something new as well.  Am I ready for a full marathon yet?

I will do a write up of each race, including my thoughts on the event, pictures, my results, my weight on race day (this is a blog about running while large after all), and any swag that I might get.  The only drawbacks to this plan is races are expensive and there is not much variety in Memphis area races.  If I lived in Nashville, I could run anything I wanted to, but I shall make the most of it.  Or, at least within reason.  The cost factor is quite restrictive and has already altered my plan.  In a perfect world, would run the Flying Pig Half in Cincinnati in May and catch the Braves vs Reds the following night.  And then in July, I would trek north to Chicago to run in the Rock ‘n Roll Half and catch the Braves vs White Sox.  But this is not a perfect world, and despite my lofty goal, I am not going to go into the poor house to achieve it.  My plan is going to still be completed and will give me a great idea about future years.

2 thoughts on “My running plan for 2013

Leave a Reply

